1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

Applying to texas schools?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by Daydreamer2008, May 8, 2007.

1. Daydreamer2008

7+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    I'm a CA resident debating if I should apply to any of the TMDAS schools, I haven't received my MSAR yet, so wanted to see if anyone thought it was worth a shot.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. riceman04

10+ Year Member

Medical Student
    Do you have any connections to Texas?

I am a CA resident and am applying to 3 U. Texas schools (at least I think I am) and Baylor...but only b/c I attended Rice, both sides of my family are from Texas, and my sister attended UT Houston.

If it were not for that, I would leave TMDSAS completely alone

4. afterthought

7+ Year Member

By state law, public med schools in Texas can only accept 10 percent OOS'ers. Also by state law--this one I don't understand--OOS'ers that get a scholarship of $1000 or more can pay in-state tuition. Most schools automatically award OOS'ers at least $1000 so they can take advantage of this.

Baylor can accept more OOS, 30% I think. The scholarship rule doesn't apply, but lots of people buy condos their first year to establish residency and then pay in-state tuition for the last 3.

Maybe some of that info's helpful.

5. sweetcorn

2+ Year Member

Medical Student