Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Applying to texas schools?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by Daydreamer2008, May 8, 2007.

1. Daydreamer2008

Pre-Medical
    I'm a CA resident debating if I should apply to any of the TMDAS schools, I haven't received my MSAR yet, so wanted to see if anyone thought it was worth a shot.

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. riceman04

Medical Student
    Do you have any connections to Texas?

I am a CA resident and am applying to 3 U. Texas schools (at least I think I am) and Baylor...but only b/c I attended Rice, both sides of my family are from Texas, and my sister attended UT Houston.

If it were not for that, I would leave TMDSAS completely alone

4. afterthought

By state law, public med schools in Texas can only accept 10 percent OOS'ers. Also by state law--this one I don't understand--OOS'ers that get a scholarship of $1000 or more can pay in-state tuition. Most schools automatically award OOS'ers at least $1000 so they can take advantage of this.

Baylor can accept more OOS, 30% I think. The scholarship rule doesn't apply, but lots of people buy condos their first year to establish residency and then pay in-state tuition for the last 3.

Maybe some of that info's helpful.

5. sweetcorn

Medical Student
    I moved to Texas last fall to work, and applied to all the TMDSAS schools. I am in the non-resident pool since I have lived here less than a year. I got interviews at 4 schools, received 2 acceptance offers, and was waitlisted at the other 2. I don't know how big a factor my living in Texas was, but I'd say it's worth a shot if you have a competitive application. You can't beat the tuition deal, and its not too expensive to apply to all the schools. I was also impressed at every school I interviewed at. I think I would have been happy at any of them.

6. potato51

Attending Physician