Applying to US Med School with a Foreign Bachelors Degree.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted850233

I know this topic was covered by SymphonyNo9 and it was covered really well but my situation is a bit different and I wanted to see if there are people who made it to med school that are in a similar situation. I am a US citizen that has a foreign bachelors degree. Unlike in the previous discussion I did not do a post-bacc but took but took all the pre-reqs in a local community college (which was brutally difficult, I don't get how are they frowned upon) which came to a little above 60 units(GPA 4.0). I also have done research in molecular biology (with poster presentation) and pharmaceutical grade organic chemistry(which I am doing now). Additionally, I have been an EMT for 6 years and shadowed an MD for 2. Now I keep reading some very discouraging threads about foreign undergrad AND community college prereqs and I have both. I already started prepping for MCAT but now I keep thinking what if they dont even look at me with CC prereqs and a foreign undergrad. I was wondering if anyone has dealt with a situation like this or knows anyone who had the same path. Any advise would be highly appreciated. https://forums.studentdoctor.net/th...chool-with-a-foreign-bachelor-degree.1228071/

Members don't see this ad.

I am confused. Did you do CC then transferred all those credits toward a foreign BA? Or you received your foreign BA and then did 60 credits at CC in the US?

Regardless, I don't think that US medschools will allow a foreign BA to fulfill it's BA requirements. It has to be a US BA degree.

I may be wrong, so calling
@gonnif @gyngyn for further clarification.

I am confused. Did you do CC then transferred all those credits toward a foreign BA? Or you received your foreign BA and then did 60 credits at CC in the US?