APPREHENSIVE

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
E

ELVIS

I am taking the MCAT in August for the first time. I almost sent my applications to PA School when I realized that I am smart enough to be a docor. So with only one month prep time:

A) How will I do on the MCAT?
1640 GRE, 3.6 Science GPA(Organic I, Physics I&II, Cell Phys., Genetics, Calculus, and a zillion others) Mind you I am only a C student in ALL CHEMISTRY COURSES TAKEN

B) How far behind the power curve am I in the application process?

Oh, By the way I am still alive!

Members don't see this ad.

You are a *****. Enough said

Ignore Dogboy, just jump in and do your best. One month is not much time to prep for the MCAT but just study as much as you can and take as many practice tests as you can. After you do a test make sure to go over the questions you got wrong and if you don't know why you got it wrong find someone or something that can help you figure out why you are wrong, especially on chemistry.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hey Carrie...and do ignore DOGBOY [he can be rather funny at time though].

Elvis,

Unfortunately, all those grades and GRE scores mean absolutely ZERO on the MCAT. However, I would think such a strong GRE score is indicative of solid test-taking skills and that will be a HUGE advantage for you. The best advice i can give you...you've had the material that's on the MCAT so I would focus on testing skills! Like Hskrmedic says...many many many practice tests! But, don't completely ignore reviewing subject matter. Use your scores on the practice tests to see where you are weak on knowledge and focus there.

Best of luck!

------------------
'Old Man Dave'
KCOM, Class of '03

Not that it makes a difference on the mcat, but the 1640 on the gre is not that great of a score. the test is graded out of 2400, with each section counting 800 points.