approach to sickle cell crisis?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

discharged

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
In the north, we have a big population of sickle cell patients who are regulars in the ED for "sickle cell crisis". As a student, I've seen different attendings who teach to treat every sickle cell patient who comes in with complaints of pain (because "they are in pain even though sometimes they do not seem it"), and others who call it b.s. and say they are drug seekers.

What is your approach to SCC in a patient that is hemodynamically stable with baseline labs, and appears well? When do you draw the line and say they are just seeking narcotics? Thanks for the input, just unsure of how to manage these patients correctly..

addendum: nevermind, just saw a recent thread about this!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
In the north, we have a big population of sickle cell patients who are regulars in the ED for "sickle cell crisis". As a student, I've seen different attendings who teach to treat every sickle cell patient who comes in with complaints of pain (because "they are in pain even though sometimes they do not seem it"), and others who call it b.s. and say they are drug seekers.

What is your approach to SCC in a patient that is hemodynamically stable with baseline labs, and appears well? When do you draw the line and say they are just seeking narcotics? Thanks for the input, just unsure of how to manage these patients correctly..

addendum: nevermind, just saw a recent thread about this!

I just treat them. I don't pass judgment, I don't get into wars about the dose of Dilaudid (although I DO have the nurses run it in slow rather than a fast IV push). I simply look up their doses from the last visit/inpatient stay, give them that dose up to 3 times. The minute I write for the third dose, I admit them.