1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Approaching the Biology Section of the PCAT

Discussion in 'PCAT Discussions' started by Sunnyforever, Aug 8, 2011.

1. Sunnyforever

Pharmacy Student
    Hey everyone,

I was just wondering how you all got yourself prepared for the biology section of the PCAT. I'v taken the basic bio courses and pre-reqs and I already have the Kaplan book and im basically studying from that but it seems to be soo in-depth that I don't think I will remember it all. Going with the Kaplan book also has its disadvantages for me because I feel like I have to fully understand each chapter before I can move, which is kinda frustrating as its taking very long to finish

Any tips would be largely appreciated :)

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. dudecoolname

dudecoolname words under my username
    2+ Year Member

Pre-Pharmacy
  4. chemguy79

chemguy79 New Member
    Moderator Emeritus 10+ Year Member

It has been stated frequently on the forums that Kaplan is overkill. This should not be a surprise. Put the book down! :D

AP Cliffs Biology book is great, IMO, because the explanations are condensed and it hits on the key points. I focused my studies on that book and scored a 96 in the Biology section which is quite telling because when I started studying 2 months beforehand, I didn't know the difference between meiosis and mitosis, the organelles were words that I knew, but I didn't remember their functions, etc. (I'm a research chemist, so Biology was merely the nagging class to endure in order to get my Bachelor's degree.)

5. harmonidrum

2+ Year Member

Pre-Pharmacy