Are my extracurriculars good enough?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dr Gerrard

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Before you read, I do know that many of mine are for a short time, and spread out. There are two reasons for that. First, is that I plan on studying abroad second semester junior year. Second, I feel like I would be able to explain it because it has helped me experience many different fields, and it has shown I want to be a doctor because throughout everything, I still want to be a doctor more than anything.

I am a second semester sophomore, and these are the extracurricular activities I will have by the time I apply.

Ethics Bowl Team -- Basically a public policy debate team, 10 hrs a week, for all of sophomore year and first semester junior year, and all of senior year. My school has a national championship winning team.

Creation v. Evolution Project --- Exploring the use of podcasts as a good teaching medium for the creation v. evolution controversy. 3 hours a week, sophomore year and first semester junior year.

Center for Academic Integrity --- Leading a group whose purpose is to create a new logo and brochure for the center. Second semester sophomore year, 2 hours a week.

Portfolio --- Evaluating the different courses which fill the ethical requirements of the portfolio required at my school.

Intramural Soccer - Sophomore year, first semester junior year and senior year

Forest Activities Club - Co-Executive, working to increase student awareness of the experimental forest my school has. We organize activities in the forest, clean up dates, etc. We also tried to get more money for the forest, which was stalled due to budget cuts.

Presidents list or deans list every semester
Intercultural Achievement Award --- grades

Shadowing doctor - Summer after sophomore year, probably like 25 hours a week.