Are Nurse Anesthetists doomed ?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

albaniandoc

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi.
I am an RN working on pre-med courses. I am also preparing for the MCAT and the GRE at the same time. My goal is two go to med school but I talk to a lot of docs I work with and almost all of them suggest that I go to CRNA school, since it is more money and less schooling and no call.
One doctor had a different spin on it. When I graduated nursing school CRNAs were making 100G/year, the slowly 120 and now about 150G. He felt that eventually they will run themselves out of the market because they are demanding higher and higher salaries. I mean people could just hire doctors instead of CRNAs if they demand higher salaries.
Is CRNA just in "style" right now or is this a great profession to be in ?
I would like to do CRNA but then in 10 years will I be looking at going back to medical school or should I shoot for medical so I won't have to wonder what I could have been or done in 10 years?
Any ideas would be appreciated?

Members don't see this ad.

My take is that it's just a boring job (Rather practice medicine).

This is all market-rate trickle down. As gas becomes a more and more competitive specialty with salaries reaching easily into the hundres of thousands, the mid-level salaries will also creep up more or less in lockstep.

My neighbor makes 300k as a part-time gas MD, in that light, a CRNA making $150k in a busy urban hospital is right on.

Ockham

Members don't see this ad :)
guetzow said:
My take is that it's just a boring job (Rather practice medicine).

How did you come about this observation of yours?

:)............................

Are Nurse Anesthetists doomed ?

No

guetzow said:
:)............................

In what capacity? Unless you have done it, you only have an observer's opinion, which isn't worth much.