Are residencies required for these?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PharmLife4Me

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I was looking at some pharmacy career options that are presentable after graduation and I have determined that retail is definitely not for me since I have been working in retail and independent for about 5 years now. The pharmacy school that I am applying to listed careers like oncology pharmacist, operating room pharmacist, pediatric pharmacist, veterinary pharmacist, critical care pharmacist, and infectious disease pharmacist... I would prefer to do something like OR pharmacist or even veterinary pharmacist, just SOMETHING besides retail. I am one of those type of people who prefer consultations outside of retail. Now, I know that clinical pharmacy requires residencies, but do those listed above require one as well? Thanks!:thumbup:

Members don't see this ad.

Hello! I was looking at some pharmacy career options that are presentable after graduation and I have determined that retail is definitely not for me since I have been working in retail and independent for about 5 years now. The pharmacy school that I am applying to listed careers like oncology pharmacist, operating room pharmacist, pediatric pharmacist, veterinary pharmacist, critical care pharmacist, and infectious disease pharmacist... I would prefer to do something like OR pharmacist or even veterinary pharmacist, just SOMETHING besides retail. I am one of those type of people who prefer consultations outside of retail. Now, I know that clinical pharmacy requires residencies, but do those listed above require one as well? Thanks!:thumbup:

Yes, a residency is pretty much required for all those positions. Those positions fall under the "clinical pharmacy" umbrella.