Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Are Special Masters Programs Financially Worth it?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by movemntofja, Jan 6, 2009.

1. movemntofja

Pre-Medical
    After reading a bunch of these posts, it seems pretty clear to me that enrolling in an SMP is the way to go for me. I graduated from Vanderbilt with a 3.0 GPA (3.44 science GPA) and got a 26 MCAT despite scoring in the low 30s on numerous practice tests. I plan on retaking the MCAT but i know i still have to improve my GPA.

The thing is, I owe a ton of loans for my undergrad education and am having trouble stomaching the prospect of having to pay around 50k (most SMPs tuition average around 30k then with the added costs of living) just for the opportunity to improve my chances of getting into med school. I live in MA where there's only one state school which means unless I get in there or somewhere in Canada (I'm a dual citizen) I'll likely be paying back undergrad, SMP, and med school loans till I'm like 50. Any advice??

Also, this might be a long shot, but has anyone heard of any programs similar to SMPs that are offered in Canada? Thanks!

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. rama kandra

rama kandra Actual Psychiatrist jk
    5+ Year Member

Medical Student (Accepted)
    i would not consider the question to be about finances as much as... is it literally worth it? if you get into medical school in this round without an SMP, it is great... but if having the SMP gets you into med school, that is certainly worth it. nobody is going to give you an answer since we dont know how you will do in the SMP nor does it promise anything concrete.