Are textbooks needed?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nishi

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok, because I'm super anal, I feel like I need to study absolutely everything for this MCAT. Are textbooks needed if I want to aim for a score in the 40s? Or are EK materials sufficient?

Members don't see this ad.

im using EK stuff and physics and g-chem textbooks, for the practice problems.

nishi said:
Ok, because I'm super anal, I feel like I need to study absolutely everything for this MCAT. Are textbooks needed if I want to aim for a score in the 40s? Or are EK materials sufficient?

If that's your goal is to study absolutely every detail, you definitely need textbooks. I studied for the August MCAT this summer, and using Kaplan review books was definitely not enough. They tell the basics but the textbooks are much much more thorough. I found myself going to them very often and I got a 33P. Hope that helps..

Dr. Weebs

Members don't see this ad :)
The MCAT is not about details. That would be a big waste of time. It is a problem solving test. All you need are the basics which review books should cover. Any other details could be extracted from the passage. I got a 14 on the biology section studying nothing but TPR books.

nishi said: