Are you at a huge disadvantage for IMif you don't submit ERAS app till November?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

centroles

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
PLEASE HELP.

I am an Carribean medical student and have a rather low Step 1 score. But I have two months off now and know that I can do STELLAR on the Step 2 if I take it end of Sept.

I plan to take Step 2 at end of Sept, fill out my ERAS application, and submit my ERAS Application in late October once my Step 2 score is available. I don't want residency programs to discard my application before getting a chance to see my high step 2 score.

So I'm wondering, will any of the lesser competitive IM residency programs simply stop looking at ERAS applications recieved in November and after.

Will I be at a huge disadvantage not filling out my ERAS application until November 1st instead Sept 1st.

I'm applying to Psych, IM and FM btw.

I would greatly appreciate your input. Thank you very much.

Members don't see this ad.

Apply as soon as possible and have your score automatically released as it becomes available. Who knows maybe some FM or Psych program will give u a shot and then once ure improved step 2 score comes in more programs will hopefully respond. You don't know what response you will get but not applying guarentees u get no response

Thank you very much for your thoughtful answer.

Based on this reply...
I certainly can't speak for all programs in those fields. However:

1. Programs that fill many of their spots via prematch offers tend to run their interviews earlier than those that fill through the match. As they fill on a rolling basis, the earlier you interview the better your chances. Nov 1 is a bit late for these programs, but probably not the kiss of death.