Are you in high school, interested in a med school and uncediced on college?

KD1655

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
If you apply to the questions posed in the title, I urge you to take a look at the New Jersey Institute of Technology in your college search. Before I say more, I should mention that I am not from the Dept of Admission there nor am I employed by the school; I am an alumni and a current PhD student that loves my alma mater. NJIT is the state of New Jersey's public research university. While we started off as the Newark College of Engineering, the number of colleges that currently encompass NJIT is something like 6 or 7 I think. The most prestigious of these colleges, and the one that I graduated from, is the Albert Dorman Honors College, which only accepts the top students in the state and offers a plethora or financial and academic benefits. There are two BS/MD (7 yr) programs offered through the honors college (UMDNJ- New Jersey Medical School which is up the road and Saint George's University) as well as BS/DMD, BS/ DPT programs. THe BS/MD program at UMDNJ is like most other BS/MD programs that you are probably aware of. The BS/MD program at SGU is ratehr unique. Under the current arrangementm which will soon change (detailed below), NJIT students leave NJIT after three years and head to SGU in Grenada for two years (basic sciences years). After the completion of the first year, the BS degree is conferred by NJIT. After the completion of the first two basic science years in Grenada, NJIT students return to NJ and finish the last two clinical years at various teaching hospitals around the state; I believe that St. Michaels Medical Center in Newark (across the street from NJIT) is the primary teaching hospital for the program. However, NJIT is in the final stages of increasing the scale of its partnership with NJIT whereby NJIT would essentially offer a joint MD degree with SGU. Thereby, the NJIT School of Medicine would be established; here is an int