"Are you reading me?" "Are you getting inside my head?"

Discussion in 'Psychology [Psy.D. / Ph.D.]' started by SeaSquirt, May 16, 2008.

1. SeaSquirt

How do you even respond to that? I've literally gotten some variation of those responses dozens of times from people who learn I'm studying psychology.

I laughed once, "No, that's a psychic!"
    "I mean are you trying to figure my mind out?"

Are there any good or witty answers? If you're not exhibiting obvious abnormal behavior, I'm probably not thinking twice about you. :laugh:

I don't even know if they're trying to be humorous or if they're serious.

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. scienceisbeauty

Pre-Psychology
    a) No, actually...but I can see how someone like you might think that.

b) Your question is the typical sort from individuals who have only a superficial understanding of the field.

c) No. I have much more important issues with which to concern myself.

d) I don't need to "read your thoughts/mind/body/whatever" to tell you're dim-witted, your question, for example, speaks for itself.

I don't know - it depends on how/why their asking.

4. Ollie123

Psychology Student
    "I'm off duty. Give me $150 and then I'll give it a try".

Similarly (only works in certain contexts).

I told a hairdresser who asked this I won't analyze her in supercuts if she wouldn't try and cut my hair if she came into the clinic for therapy. I imagine this could work for an accountant, bartender, salesman, whatever other professional interaction you might be having.

5. Therapist4Chnge

Therapist4Chnge Neuropsych Ninja Faculty
    Faculty Moderator Emeritus

Psychologist
    "Do accountants take work home for fun? I don't either."

"Yes. You lose....so just give up now."

6. pinknyyy

Psychology Student