All Branch Topic (ABT) ARNG: financial issues

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dustin2207

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Everyone,
I am a prior service member that has been out for a few years now. Currently I am a medical student in Virginia and thinking about joining the ARNG. I have been the primary supporter of my finances and had some financial hard ships due loosing my job that resulted in some stuff going into collections, and a private student loan (not federal) going into default.

I have called and trying to work something out with this company among others but its still on my credit.

My question is I am looking to join the National Guard Army however, I know they make you fill out a section about past finances.

Will this be an automatic DQ ? Im not joining solely for the money as I have already served in the infantry, however, this would certainly allow me to obtain finances to correct these occurrences.

Just incase it comes up, no I do not have family I can simply barrow money from. They are not in a situation that they could do this. (Father deceased)

Thank you

Members don't see this ad.

Why not do HPSP and get paid + loans covered? Chances are reasonable that you can get a clearance - but I would recommend speaking with a HPSP recruiter for someone that is closer to that activity.

Reactions: 1 user
Why not do HPSP and get paid + loans covered? Chances are reasonable that you can get a clearance - but I would recommend speaking with a HPSP recruiter for someone that is closer to that activity.

Hello Lee,