1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

Arrest Record and Licensing

Discussion in 'Medical Students - MD' started by TiredUnicorn, May 8, 2008.

1. TiredUnicorn

Medical Student
    I am a first year medical student, rounding to the end of my first year.

Last year I was arrested for an OWI (yes, an owi- it is very horrible I know). It has been the bane of my existence since then. For all who question the ethics of it and me, I certainly agree that duis are not okay! I was wine tasting for 45 min., believed myself to have had 1-2 drinks, waited another hour and a half, and was arrested upon leaving the location. I have been through a year of much pain and whatnot, as well as disclosing it fully to my school and seeing our school counselor about it.

Fortunately for me, the charges were dropped, and I plead to two class C infractions (driving tickets). I know I will have to disclose this fully, along with all my documentation upon attempting licensure. Because I am debating if it is logical to stay in (I LOVE medicine and am so proud to be in this great society) when I may be left at the end with 160K debt and no licensure.

Does anyone have any perspective on this as I am facing this decision? I will have an arrest record and all court documents against me, but thankfully NO misdemeanor. I hate to leave behind the one thing I feel passionate about :(, but I feel I must face facts. I'm not asking for pity, just actual information. Thank you for any help you can give.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. kdburton

kdburton Ulnar Deviant
    5+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]