As a Canadian, should I write the American DAT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

herragge

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I would greatly appreciate some input,

I am a Canadian undergrad who has completed the Canadian DAT in 2007. I scored 20AA, 20PAT, 29 Carving. I plan on applying to American schools in the upcoming cycle asap in June. My GPA is reasonably strong; 3.7-3.8. Extracurriculars are present, not spectacular, but are okay.

I want to know if I should write the American DAT. I am gone for one month before I travel to Europe in mid June, and the time from now to then would be to study and write my test before I leave. I have reviewed the Kaplan, and I do not forsee me doing any worse on the American DAT as I did in the cDAT, in fact I'll probably do alot better considering I have a degree under my belt and I'll be studying it with a rather open schedule. I expect 22-23+ if I do write it.

Some of the schools I'm interested in: Penn, Boston, Tufts, Columbia, Nova, and maybe UIllinois and UArizona.

These are my concerns:
-do I really need to write it if I'm applying in June? My AA/PAT on my cDAT isn't that bad...it could be improved but is it worth my time?
-in what ways will writing the American DAT be to my advantage? I know the American DAT is electronic, so it is easily processed in comparison to the cDAT which needs to be manually processed, but if I'm applying in June does this processing time really matter?
-most schools I am interested in accept the Canadian DAT; however many of them do not specify how old the DAT can be. I wrote mine in 2007, I wonder if this will pose any problems?

Basically, if I'm spending all this time studying when I'm only going to gain marginally, if at all even, then should I reconsider writing this DAT?