Ask a Graduating 4th Year Med Student Anything

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sinombre

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Now that I'm done with all of my ms4 requirements and have already matched, I'm pretty much just sailing until graduation. I found these AMA threads really helpful as a premed so I figured I'd make a new thread and see if I can answer any questions.

Super brief background: I was an average med student and matched into my top choice in general surgery

Maybe @Doctor Strange and/or any other ms4s who post here can chime in as well.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 10 users
Now that I'm done with all of my ms4 requirements and have already matched, I'm pretty much just sailing until graduation. I found these AMA threads really helpful as a premed so I figured I'd make a new thread and see if I can answer any questions.

Super brief background: I was an average med student and matched into my top choice in general surgery

What made you choose general surgery?

Reactions: 1 user
Congrats. OB/GYN vs Surgery - which had crankier residents?

I know you may be biased lol

Members don't see this ad :)

What made you top choice your top choice? Location? Higher ranking? Quality of program?

What made you choose general surgery?

A combination of a lot of things. I like working with my hands, love the OR, love the idea of being able to have tangible results, love the breadth of the field and the fact that there are about a million subspecialty options. I also got along really well with just about every resident and that definitely factored in as well.

Reactions: 8 users
Congrats. OB/GYN vs Surgery - which had crankier residents?

I know you may be biased lol