Ask a Non-Trad What's Up

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Kaustikos

Antibiotics 4 Lyfe
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey,
So as I've made it to my third year of medical student, I figured I owed it to this site and you guys to offer advice/help coming from a non-traditional student who's now 30 and past halfway with Med School. I have a blog which I've been kind of absent in posting but I feel it has given a lot of perspective not only from a non-trad but basically someone like myself. I'm sarcastic, direct and sometimes a complete jerk when I'm studying.

Here's the first post I made:

Well, just who the hell am I?

By standard definition of studentdoctor.net, I'm practically considered a non-tradional aspiring physician. Recently being accepted to Medical School, I figured it only obvious to do the next logically sound thing every other medical student does - create a blog.

After graduating from college almost 5 years ago, I applied to Medical School (or made a kind donation of over $3,000) and didn't get in (save for waitlists). I wasn't really deterred/panicked/depressed or any other emotional adjective people would use to describe how some people felt after being rejected from the medical community (Though family and friends would argue otherwise by my lack of communication during the process). I decided I'd spend my time exploring other possible options I hadn't initially thought of pursuing. If medicine was quite possibly not the career for me, then what was? Obviously pharmaceuticals! Landing a job as a Toxicologist at a "Big 5" pharmaceutical company after graduation, I decided I'd try with no bias to see if research was my calling. But just to keep my future prospects in healthcare in check, I also worked as a pharmacy technician at a local retail pharmacy. So, there I was, about to start a journey deciphering what the hell I would do with my future.