Associate degree first hurts?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rhp123

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just saw somebody post something about community college. I was thinking getting an associate degree in nursing from a community college. Since medical school is hard to get into and preparation takes a long time, it is easier for me to be a RN and work in the medical field first.

I already have Bachelor's and Master's degree from other fileds. I plan to attend a good, reputable post Bac and apply for medical school after I work as a RN for a couple of years. But does anybody know associate degree from a community college will hurt for application? or it doesn't matter, as long as one has a Bachelor's. Also, will RN definitely help for the application?

Members don't see this ad.

rhp,

My 2 cents.........save your time and $.......with a BA and MA you should just find a good post-bac program and go for it. Unless for some reason you really want to be a nurse.......why bother? You are essentially adding 2-3 years on to your pre-med time frame. After nursing you still need to take the sciences at a 4 year school. So now you are looking at 5+ years before you can even apply!!

Go for it and good luck!!!!

Thanks for the reply. I am still undecisive. I prefer the way to get fully prepared (the best you can get) before applying, even it takes a little bit longer. But just try to find out if an associate degree from community college hurts or not, does anyone know?

Members don't see this ad :)
Originally posted by rhp123
Thanks for the reply. I am still undecisive. I prefer the way to get fully prepared (the best you can get) before applying, even it takes a little bit longer. But just try to find out if an associate degree from community college hurts or not, does anyone know?

rhp