Asthma treatment

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Brit Girl

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently studying the cardiopulmonary system and am wondering about the treatment of mild to moderate asthma. It seems that a lot of patients have badly managed asthma with ineffective drugs.
In the UK, the first line treatment is salbutamol for relief, with inhaled steroids for preventative effects. Oral steroids are used in more severe cases. Anti leukotryines have been tried with some success, although they don't seem to be the breakthrough drug everyone was hoping for.
It has been said that over on the US side of the pond, theophylline is still used regulary, when here it's pretty much a last resort. Just wondering if anyone can tell me why ?
Does anyone have any interesting schemes for effective management, with good compliance? Asthma's a really big problem here, and it's always good to hear other ideas.
Thanks for input.
smile.gif

------------------
Pants

Members don't see this ad.

Well, you have been told wrong! Theophylline is hardly used in the US anymore either, probably for the same reasons it is not used in Europe (narrow therapeutic range, a lot better stuff avaliable these days which is more effective and has less side effects).

The anti leuktriene family of drugs (Zafirleukast and the like) are becoming very popular in the management of pediatric
asthma and cromolyn still seems to be a favorite for moderate pediatric asthma.