Quantcast

Attorney to Doctor path, but advice needed

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.
Hello all,

I am a former pre-med student who got my undergrad degree in 2009 and completed all prerequisites plus neuroscience, minus Organic Chemistry I and II. I went to law school (graduated in 2013), passed the bar exam, and have been practicing law for over a year. I am successful in my practice but my passion is medicine.

I am confounded on how to proceed next. Most pre-med post bac programs are only for those who have completed less than 50% of the prerequisites, and the SMPs are generally for those who have completed all of the prerequisites. Here are my current thoughts:

1. Complete Organic Chemistry I and II, plus other science courses like biochem, genetics, etc. at a local community college and then take the MCAT, and apply to med schools; or

2. Find a pre-med post-bac program that doesn't care that I have completed 75% of prerequisites, and pretty much do the same thing as #1 option but in official post-bac program; or

3. Complete Organic Chemistry I and II at local community college and then apply to SMP; or

4. some other idea...

I live in the Seattle area, so I don't currently have many options (Seattle U? - but post-bac says for none to minimal completed pre-reqs, Heritage University? - Again, looks like all pre-reqs must be completed, Portland State University?), but I would be willing to relocate for a program if it is my best option.

There is a lot more I could add, but I hope that this is sufficient to at least get some ideas and advice. I can always add more. Thanks.

Law2Doc

5K+ Member
Moderator Emeritus
10+ Year Member
Reaction score