August 15 MCAT Studying Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Cumberland_Doc

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
First of all, I'd like to say hello to everyone in this community. I'm very glad that there exists a place such as this to research past, present, and future MCAT tests and those who have had success in taking it. With that said, I am here asking what all of you would recommend in preparation for the MCAT which is scheduled for Aug 15.

I'm a sophomore student who has completed all four fundamental sciences (Bisc, Chem, O. Chem, and Physics). I did best in Biology and Physics, and didn't do so great in the chemistries.

My current materials for studying are:

Kaplan Premier 2007-2008 MCAT Book
EK Biology and Organic Chemistry
EK Audio Osmosis Series
Kaplan MCAT Biology
Kaplan MCAT Chemistry
Kaplan MCAT Verbal Reasoning
Kaplan MCAT High Profile Problem Solving

So, for those of you with experience in studying for this test, could you lay out a plan for me to follow in the coming months as I prepare? I was originally scheduled for the June 13th test, but decided to reschedule. I wanted to just "feel the water" with the test the first time, but now I realized that that isn't a very wise move. I want to blow it out of the water the first time!

Thanks everyone for your help!

Members don't see this ad.

First off, check out the sticky threads at top. Next, and this is big, GET MORE PRACTICE MATERIAL. You must get at least all the AAMC practice MCATs and possibly the Kaplan FLs if you can manage. I also highly suggest getting EK verbal 101 and their 1001 bio book. Again, if you can afford it, Kaplan's online course gives you a solid amount of practice material on top of their FLs, AAMC tests, and their lessons (which weren't helpful for me). Anyway, I'm just going to copy and paste my previous post on a possible study plan to give you an idea.