AUGUST MCAT: Content Review Strategy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

orbitaloverlap

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

Who else is taking the MCAT in late August? What's your strategy for the content review?

After taking a TPR course in the midst of a very difficult semester, I've found that I couldn't really balance MCAT and school work. At first I was killing two birds with one stone: for my physics class I was studying from my MCAT book as well as for biochemistry- until the material in school became more involved and deviated from the MCAT-type stuff. After realizing that I will be severely under prepared and too stressed to do well on my much earlier anticipated test date I've decided to push the test back till August.

So far, I'm studying 7 days a week @ 5-6 hours on average. I'm focusing mainly on Gen Chem content at the moment and doing passages that TPR assigned for homework. I'm almost done with Gen Chem content but not with the homework passages. I also try to sprinkle in Verbal practice.

I plan on dividing the coming weeks into topical reviews rather than doing everything together. I feel this will help me absorb the information easier and with more clarity than jumbling everything together.

Do you guys think this is an efficient method? What are your strategies, all you late August MCATers? Any other TPR students who can relate?

Members don't see this ad.

Uh yeah, I'm taking it in August too. What I'm did is that I did an all out review on Biology, because I hadn't taken it forever.

Now, I'm trying to do lots and lots of practice questions, but I'm probably going to spent a few days reviewing Chemistry content and Physics content now. I'm using Kaplan and Exam Krackers review book to learn everything.

Hopefully sometime in July, I'll start doing practice exams and the plan is to go through both Kaplan exams and 8 AAMC exams.