August MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pittfan15

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys. I'm new to SDN. I had a quick question regarding application timeline

I just took my MCAT and not feeling too confident about my scores. I'm just trying to plan for the worse so I want to register for the Aug 20 or 24th MCAT date. My question is is this too late to apply this cycle.

I'm going to have my AMCAS in by this week. and as for my stats--

cgpa: 3.65
sGPA: 3.55

coming from a top 15 undergrad
I have a lot of shadowing and clinical exposure
Involved in clinical research and public health research
have leadership with organizations around campus
substantial amount of volunteer hours.
great LORs

I dunno if the stats were needed, but just in case. What do you guys think- is Aug too late for an MCAT date, even if I submit everything before? Do I have a chance for this cycle?

Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

An MCAT score release date toward the end of September is late, and your application would be at some disadvantage, but it isn't impossible to get an acceptance that late in the cycle. If you score a 31, you might have a 15% decrease in chances for an interview offer for schools in your target range. With a 35, maybe only a 5% decrease. With a 29, maybe a 25% decrease. With safety schools, your chances would not be as compromised. (Numbers provided for illustrative purposes are my impression and not based on published statistics.)