calamityjane

10+ Year Member
Sep 7, 2006
Status (Visible)
I'm a third year student trying to set up an away rotation for next fall. I applied to University of Chicago, and was sent a reply indicating that spots at U of C's main site were full for the dates I requested but that I could rotate at Lutheran General Hospital, Park Ridge instead. Any comments?

I realize that the same cohort of faculty and residents work at Lutheran, so the quality of teaching ought to be similar. I will only have the opportunity to complete 1 away and want the experience to be worthwhile. I'd appreciate any advice from people familiar with the site and University of Chicago program in general.

AmoryBlaine

the last tycoon
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
May 1, 2006
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician
I ended up cancelling my interview at U of C so admittedly I don't know a ton about the program.

However, I think you would probably be better off just rotating somewhere else than trying to do a month at a satelite hospital. Like I said I don't know how this particular hospital works but I'm pretty sure that at many "secondary" sites the attendings are not really considered faculty.

waterski232002

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Sep 5, 2004
Chicago
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician
The ER at Lutheran General is high volume, suburban patient population, with lots of Blunt trauma and classic presentations for appy/chole/panc, etc. It's kind of the opposite of the University of Chicago where all the patients are indigent, have multiorgan system failure, don't know their meds, and the ER gets very backed up.

As far as wanting to do a rotation at Lutheran, the faculty there are top notch. Attendings are graduates from a variety of programs including UofC, Northwestern, Brigham, and Hopkins. They are great teachers and you'll work 1 on 1 with a resident and attending team.