Away Rotation: Hennepin vs. Christus Spohn

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Fox800

Go to the ER now to see if you have coronavirus.
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all. I'm a third-year DO student with one elective to use this spring. I've been accepted to do an away rotation at both Hennepin County Medical Center in Minneapolis and Christus Spohn in Corpus Christi. I have quite a few classmates who have rotated at Christus Spohn and they had really good experiences/letters, but I don't know anyone around here who's rotated at Hennepin.

This will be my first audition rotation. Hennepin obviously has a big name and reputation but I'm thinking it might be tougher to get a good letter because they probably attract more competitive applicants. Christus Spohn is a newer program and is unopposed except for an FM residency program, so the EM residents get to do a lot and that trickles down to the rotating medical students (or so I'm told).

Also of note, Christus Spohn provides housing (nice bonus) while Hennepin does not.

Any advice about picking one program vs. the other?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
HCMC in Minnesota?

If so, I'm from MN and I was an EMT for years. We transferred many patients to HCMC. They are well known for having a superb burn unit. It's also a county hospital so they get a high volume of patients which means you will see anything and everything. Overall, I think it's a great hospital. Can't comment on the program itself, just giving you my two cents from the times I've been there :)

HCMC in Minnesota?