Backed into a corner by residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ms1234

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

Looking for some advice here. I’m a categorical pgy2 in a new general surgery program. I’ve had attendings comment on my financial background and personal background and hold a prejudice against me since I was an intern. I have been told by faculty that “I should ask my parents to buy me a different car”. I was pulled off my vascular surgery rotation during my second year due to prejudice from the attendings. My program put me on remediation this year due to a small HIPAA violation on social media. I worked extremely hard, and got many positive comments and evaluations from attendings. My PD recently told me the other faculty want to punish me for the HIPPA violation even more than the initial punishment I was given and the program is forcing me to repeat my PGY2 year on remediation.

I have objective data from my evals showing I’m at level or ahead of my peers. My division director told me what was happening with me was wrong and I needed to take my case up to national. He was helping me with everything until he unexpectedly resigned and is nowhere to be found. My PD and DIO refuse to listen to me and told me their decision is final. Our GME resident manual states you can only put a resident on remediation for 90 days. The DIO basically told me the CCC will meet every 90 days to renew my remediation and make me repeat the entire year.