Bad at NBME... good at UW?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

johndoe3344

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a little more than 2 weeks for my exam, so if anyone can give me any suggestions on what might be causing this problem, I'd be very appreciative.

I seem to be doing disproportionately well on UW and UW-style questions. My typical UW average for a timed, random block is usually 70-80%. Similarly, when I took the UWSA1, I got around 76% which translated to a 250+. However, a week ago, I took the NBME 11 and I got a 224. Granted, I studied hard during that one week (finished up the remainder of my organ systems... so maybe around 3 or 4 organ systems?), but even taking into account that UWSA typically overpredicts by around 10 points, that's still a very pronounced discrepancy.

Obviously, the NBME is the better predictor at performance on the real thing, but for whatever reason I just don't do as well on the NBMEs. What do you guys suggest I do?

Members don't see this ad.

I have a little more than 2 weeks for my exam, so if anyone can give me any suggestions on what might be causing this problem, I'd be very appreciative.

I seem to be doing disproportionately well on UW and UW-style questions. My typical UW average for a timed, random block is usually 70-80%. Similarly, when I took the UWSA1, I got around 76% which translated to a 250+. However, a week ago, I took the NBME 11 and I got a 224. Granted, I studied hard during that one week (finished up the remainder of my organ systems... so maybe around 3 or 4 organ systems?), but even taking into account that UWSA typically overpredicts by around 10 points, that's still a very pronounced discrepancy.

Obviously, the NBME is the better predictor at performance on the real thing, but for whatever reason I just don't do as well on the NBMEs. What do you guys suggest I do?