bad grade after being accepted to med school???

Discussion in 'Medical Students - MD' started by autumnchai, Dec 10, 2001.

1. autumnchai

autumnchai Member
    10+ Year Member

Do schools ever revoke acceptances due to a bad grade in a science (but not pre-med requirement) course? I have been squeaking by with a 2.5/3.0 in my biochem course (granted the average for the class is a 0.0) and have no idea what the curve is like or how badly I bombed the final I studied 100 hours for... It would royally suck to work so hard and get accepted to schools just to have it all taken away...

2. Starflyr

Starflyr Manic Faerie
    10+ Year Member

Most schools will tell you up front - for example, at UTMB, if you earn a grade lower than a C after you are accepted, they *may* rescind your acceptance. This was VERY CLEARLY stated on the acceptance letter (along with: if you dont graduate before the date of matriculation, your acceptance may be rescinded). If you cant find it, call them and ask. They certaintly wont rescind it just b/c you ASKED, hey?

goodluck!
    Star

3. THE instiGATOR

THE instiGATOR Cow Tipper
    7+ Year Member

The school that accepted me said that I must perform at a level equal to my previous work. I suppose this means that anything above my lowest achievement level during past semesters is OK (within the norm).

4. 12R34Y

10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    My acceptance "stuff" said that I could not get a D or F in any class and am expected to keep the same type of grades that i'd been getting or "you come up for review" again.

later

5. autumnchai

autumnchai Member
    10+ Year Member

yeah...i have gotten the "cannot perform below previous performance" on my acceptance letter...problem is that i have a 4.0 science gpa (if that is a problem)...a 2.5 or even a 3.0 look a bit different in comparison (though i am 4.0-ing my last pre-med requirement...physics II).

6. Barton

Barton Senior Member
    10+ Year Member