Bad to be research heavy in DO personal statement?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted612812

I have EXTENSIVE research background and want to become a DO. However, I know DO's are not heavy on research. While I love research, I did it more for the science understanding that I felt would help me in medical school and because I enjoyed it as a goal-oriented person. However, I do hope to ultimately obtain an academic residency that will allow me to continue research. Will this be bad for DO application?

Members don't see this ad.

Exactly how much "extensive research" are we talking here...

Members don't see this ad :)
It depends on how you play it off as. You can list it as part of your EC, but you can talk about why you want to be a DO and not mention the research part in the personal statement and secondary essays. If all you talked about was research, then it wouldn't come across that great. But once you're in the school, no one is going to stop you from doing research. So get into the school first. Do this by talking about how much you want to be a DO, etc.

I have EXTENSIVE research background and want to become a DO. However, I know DO's are not heavy on research. While I love research, I did it more for the science understanding that I felt would help me in medical school and because I enjoyed it as a goal-oriented person. However, I do hope to ultimately obtain an academic residency that will allow me to continue research. Will this be bad for DO application?

It might backfire given that many DOs are non traditional and DO schools do not really emphasize research like Allopathic schools. They tend to like well rounded people.

If you are a research type of person you will be much better off at an MD school.

You should be applying to DO schools that have a decent research component to their school or institution. OUHCOM, Rowan, KCU, PCOM, TCOM, and UNECOM come to mind.