Balance between life and study?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dushash

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm on my 1st quarter (MS1). First 2 weeks were tough. It was stressful because we didn't know what to expect on exams. Now it's been a month and it appears as if things settled down a bit. We had anatomy exam and pretty much everyone knows what to expect in future at least to some degree (or maybe it seems like that to us naive MS1'ers).
So I've been noticing that I'm unintentionally trying to limit study time and spent some more time with my family. It's almost like I'm subconsciously studying just enough to get ok-ish grades. I feel a bit guilt, but also feel that this way my life is much more balanced since I can spent more time with my family/kids.
I'm studying roughly 4 hours besides attending lectures/labs and getting average results like 85-90% (B+) and I'm ok with that. Not a gunner. That leaves me with 3-4 hours everyday of free time, which I adore as it makes me feel like I have my life back. However, I was just wondering if I should maybe rethink and put more effort into study? I'm just not sure how much your grades matter really? AFAIK residencies don't look into your file more than Step scores. Besides I'm not aiming to any super-competitive residency. I feel like for me it's like 80/20 rule, to get last 20% I'll have to try a lot harder and basically spend all my time studying. I'm not sure if it's worth it. I may be wrong. That's why I'm asking you guys, what is a "normal" line I should stick to? Should I change anything?

Members don't see this ad.

If you're not aiming for a super competitive specialty, don't stress it. Hit your Bs and you'll be fine. Hell, even if you are aiming for a competitive specialty, you don't really need to buckle down until the beginning of M2 year. Just focus on understanding and solidifying physiological concepts for now.

Reactions: 1 user