Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Because Misery Loves Company

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by shikki79, Jul 11, 2002.

1. shikki79

shikki79 Member

Is there anyone else out there in a similar predicament???
    I'm feeling like the world's greatest worst procrastinator. I haven't submitted AMCAS yet, I'm taking the MCAT for the first time in August but I only started studying about 3 weeks ago and I haven't officially requested my recommendations. I know a million industrious premeds are ALREADY receiving secondaries.
    Is there still hope for people like me, who are a little tardy in the whole process??
    If you're a chronic procrastinator too or if you WERE a procrastinator who STILL got into medical school let me know!!!

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Diogenes

Diogenes Succat

I submitted AMCAS in like early october or something. I only applied to 5 UC's, 5 top 10's, and Georgetown. I turned in the secondaries not very promptly, pretty close to their secondary deadlines. I got 7 interviews, and was put on 4 waitlists, and UCSD and Georgetown both called me this week to accept me.

I would not recommend this course of action. It is very dangerous to be late in this process. I almost paid a very significant price for my sloth.

4. shikki79

shikki79 Member

Hey Diogenes,
    Thanks for the success story!!!! Congratulations too!!!:clap:

5. Doctora Foxy

Medical Student
    Procrastinating is my hobby

Last year:

I Took the April MCATS
    Asked for my LORs in May, but my teachers didn't hand them in til August
    Rewrote my PS during senior year (in September)
    Submitted AMCAS Oct 3
    Sent in secondaries late also...oct/nov/dec
    Got 3 acceptances with not so hot mcat scores