Beckman Scholar vs. clinical/volunteer experiences

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

silverquick

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a sophomore molecular bio student at one of the top universities. I have been doing research since my high school junior year. I have one single-author paper published, two conference presentations/abstracts and another paper in preparation. I have very little clinical and volunteer experiences. My original plan is to do volunteer works this summer and my junior year.

I just found out I have won the Beckman Scholarship. It is a very prestigious award for bio or chem major. My dilemma is I need to commit 15 months (two summers and one school year) for research. If I accepted this award, then I won't be able to spend quality time for clinical/volunteer works. But I will have the opportunity to publish more papers and I may still be able to do limited shadowing and hospital volunteer works .

If I have decided to apply for MD/PhD program, clinical experiences may be less critical. But I am not totoally sure I want to spend 7/8 years for med school. I also heard first-tier research oriented schools look for students with strong research background but clinical experience is absolutely required for most medical schools.

I realize this is a good problem I need to deal with. If I don't accept it, I may regret later. If I do, I may regret I am forced into MD/PhD track.

I also wonder whether Beckman Scholar carries any weight for med school applications, especially MD only. Any comments or feedbacks will be deeply appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

silverquick said: