Becoming a Michigan Resident even though a Californian?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

scubadiva

postwhore
7+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Has anyone who is out of state for Michigan been able to find a way to get around being considered out of state for tuition? The tuition for MSUCOM is absolutely INSANE for out of state residents!!! I was wondering if anyone who was out of state was able to figure out how to become a Michigan resident in order to pay the Michigan state fee instead of the out of state fee. I would love to save about 20k if I was a Michigan resident. thanks for any tips or any advice on this!

scubadiva....hopefully an MSUCOM student next year

Members don't see this ad.

ya gotta live there a while to be considered resident (hence the term)before applying, that was my understanding, at least a year!

If accepted, you can defer for a year and move there. Work for a year, establish residency, and save 20K/year.

Members don't see this ad :)
I don't know what the situation is in Michigan, but I know that at some schools, after paying full out-of-state tuition as a MS-I you can become elgible for in-state tuition for the next three years.

If accepted, you can defer for a year and move there. Work for a year, establish residency, and save 20K/year.

True. There's another way you can be qualified as Michigan resident. That is to get married to a Michigan resident. That way your spouse can qualify you for the in-state tuition.

after paying full out-of-state tuition as a MS-I you can become elgible for in-state tuition for the next three years.