hernandez5

5+ Year Member
Nov 8, 2010
Status
Medical Student (Accepted)
Hey everybody: I am new to this thing and need some advice badly.

Senior, overall GPA 3.09, Psychology major. I have the stupid "changed-life" story that I do not want to overplay, but the past two semesters I have been at a steady 3.9, which shows how horrible my GPA was prior. At the time of the "change", I went to an academic advisor and told her to be honest about my chances into any medical school in the US with my new drive. She said, tough luck, find a different dream. I loved her for her honesty and completely took medical school out of my mind. However, as a senior, I go back to the office and a different advisor asks me why I discarded my medical school endeavors. Long story short, she tells me it is not impossible, which utterly confused me.

So here I am, thinking about going post-bac and making it my full-time job to nail the MCAT. After a little math, I came up with a final GPA of 3.2 and sGPA of 3.8.

What do I do? I have some strong connections in the medical field where I can volunteer/shadow, but like I said, I do not want to waste time volunteering when I could use that time more efficiently elsewhere.

I am a Georgia resident, born in Puerto Rico, so I could claim URM status.

I want to go to medical school badly and my freshman and sophomore years do not represent who I am as a person or student.

Any practical advice?

OP
hernandez5

hernandez5

5+ Year Member
Nov 8, 2010
Status
Need help badly people, please take a second to advise!!!!

MCAT guy

May 24, 2010
Status
Other Health Professions Student
Hey everybody: I am new to this thing and need some advice badly.