Being professional with former patient

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sushi1022

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm from a midsize city in Illinois. I used to work as a staff in a residential treatment facility in for women with severe mental illness. I now work in a different profession.

I recently was at a get-together with a group of friends. Somehow the topic of MI came up and my friend's colleague mentioned to me she was a consumer in the facility in which I worked. I was quite taken aback as she did not appear low functioning as were most of the consumers I worked with. It is possible she was never my patient.

Curious as to advice on how to proceed while remaining ethical in terms of remaining in touch with the individual, as she is in my social circle, and any other advice pertinent to remaining professional as a former mental health worker. Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Unless you are having sex with this person, I am unclear what you are worried about? You obviously dont remember her and she doesn't remember you.

More like uncomfortable...since it's weird to be having drinks with your former schizophrenia patient.

Members don't see this ad :)
More like uncomfortable...since it's weird to be having drinks with your former schizophrenia patient.
If she was never your patient and neither of you remember each other (and potentially never interacted), I fail to see why you need to treat her any differently than you would otherwise (minus the not sleeping with her thing erg mentioned). I mean, your previous associations with this facility don't seem to have given either of you information about each other or have created a power imbalance.

But you said it's possible she was never there while you worked there. Maybe just move forward assuming that's the case. No big deal.