being realistic whether one has the ability to make it

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
M

macinici

hi,

i'm a measly freshie in undergrad but in my spare time i'll sometimes glance over this forum and recently something has caught my attention. the overall concensus is that the amount of studying in med school is much greater than undergrad. a good deal of people then mentioned that they studied very little in undergrad - one two hours a day - and in med school maybe on an average day 3-4 hours. well i find myself studying so much more to actually suceed in my classes 6 hours (the 'recommended' amount) and this is causing me to kinda of panick a bit. if i dedicate 6 hours now and the work will be 10X more how in the hell will i survive later?

am i simply not equipped for med school?
are there others out there that dedicated a great amount to studying in undergrad and kinda of the same time in med school? there simply seems to be a lot of people for whom undergrad was breeze.

i'm trying to find some books on more efficient studying but at the same time i guess i study the amount of time recommended by universities in general for each credit hour taken!

Members don't see this ad.

I wouldnt necessarily gauge how many hours it takes to study to do well in undergrad as an indicator of how hard or difficult studying will be in medical school. Many people have different ways of studying, some are more efficient, some spend more hours, etc..etc.. whether its one or the other, or another, their routine of studying will change with medical school to optimize studying time. Dont forget that you also tend to have a life in college, not so much with medical school, so 100% of your time will probably be devoted to studying. Just focus on your undergrad experience and studying now, and worry about how or if you will need to adapt when you matriculate into medical school

hi,