Being single as a clinical psychologist.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

conky124

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I was hoping to seek some personal advice that I hope is relevant to this forum. I'm in my last year of grad school for clinical psych and am in the process of applying to internship. At the moment I am more interested in women in completely different fields than me or who have chosen different/ more creative careers that don't involve as much time in school I have spent. Also, I've just come out of a 10-year relationship several months ago and am just now starting to get myself into the dating world and learn how to navigate all that jazz again. I've noticed that some of the women I have gone out with have been really uneasy about me becoming a psychologist/clinician because they think I am "analyzing/judging" them or that I secretly think they are crazy. I have noticed that they also don't appear to believe or trust me when I attempt to reassure them that I hate to be treated like a client (unless I seek out therapy), treat others like a client, and that I am more likely over-judging myself. This has been a bit of a bummer when these potential relationships fizzle out for this reason and I worry that my career might always make some people distrusting of me, especially the kind of people I may want to connect with most. Anyway, I was just wondering if any clinical psychologists or students had any advice on how they reassure others who don't seem trusting of the profession. Also any advice about dating or being single as a clinical psychologist would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

• Sad
Reactions: 2 users