Below average student, only 1 interview

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

membrname

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a below average DO student who is in need of some advice. I had to remediate a few classes during the first 2 years (mom died, dad started using drugs and my siblings ended up in foster care, so I was a bit distracted) and failed COMLEX 2 (but passed step 1 on the first try). I retook step 2 and should be getting my score next week. I have applied to all of the DO pediatrics programs and 50 MD pediatrics programs (all on the first possible day). I have received one MD interview, one email from an MD program saying "we are reviewing your application", and one MD rejection. I have a few questions:

1. When should I start worrying about not hearing back from any other programs?
2. If I get a good score next week, would that help at all, or is it more likely that I'm already sitting in the "no" pile at most programs?
3. Should I add some family medicine programs even though I am honestly only interested in treating kids?
4. If I do decide to add more programs, should I do it now before too much time has passed?

I know I have dug myself into a deep hole. I was just wondering if there is any hope and if anybody had an idea of how to get programs to give me a chance. I've met with the dean and associate dean at my school and gone over my file. They both agree that I am MUCH better in person than on paper and feel that if I can just get some interviews, I will be fine. All advice is greatly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Im sorry you have gone through a lot of major life obstacles (to say the least) through school. :(
I don't think residency programs will hold any of that against you. Especially if you have the opportunity to explain.