Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

best bet

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - DO' started by Kevin3Ford, Nov 27, 1999.

1. Kevin3Ford

Kevin3Ford Junior Member
    10+ Year Member

I am majoring in biology and will graduate in May 2000, I have not taken organic chemistry yet or the MCAT. If it's best to get my applications in early, what is my best route? Should I cram organic in over the summer and take August MCAT? or take MCAT in April without organic and see how I do? Any suggestions might be helpful. Thanks!

2. Nav

Nav Member
    10+ Year Member

Tough situation. Personally, I thought that the organic chemistry questions on the MCAT were the most difficult. So you got to know your organic well.
    If you are good at learning things on your own, then you should study organic from all the MCAT prep guides you can and write the April MCAT. After awhile you can pick out the stuff that's important and is repeated on most the previous MCATs. But that is risky, if you screw up then it will really hurt your chances of getting in.
    Why the poor planning? Did you just decide to go into medicine? Why not take an extra year and learn more about osteopathic medicine and take the MCAT and organic when you are ready.

3. 705

Do NOT take the mcat without organic, PERIOD. A good amount of organic is in the bio section, and you will need both semesters. If you think you can cram it in the summer then take the mcat in August and go for it. But good luck with that big chunk of information for one summer. And remember, if you plan to apply in June 2000 and use that August mcat then you will be at a disadvantage. But what the hell, what part of life isn't a crapshoot.

4. Kevin3Ford

Kevin3Ford Junior Member
    10+ Year Member