Best program I have a shot at?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

futurestrip

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Im a 3rd year DO student looking to go into IM preferably at an academic IM place in the northeast. I want to keep my options open for fellowship open (cards, GI, pulm/cc) and want to make it as easy as possible by going to the best program I can. NE is preferred but I'm willing to go as far as Chicago/Cleveland if it means I can get into a solid academic place. Programs in NYC (big 4 (lol I know), monte?), philly (TJ, Temple), DC (GW,GU) is what I'm aiming for but locations isn't the most important thing I'd just prefer to be closer to family and in a decent city. What is important is I go to a program that will set me up for the fellowship of my choice.

Honored my core clerkships except FM and Surgery which were high pass.

Step 1: 253
Level 1: 678
No research at all, not much extracurriculars
Bottom 25% of my class (attendance was graded)

Assuming my Step 2 and Level 2 are in the same range what are the best IM programs I can expect interviews from if I apply very broadly?
Input from current residents or attendings would be much appreciated. Thanks guys!

Members don't see this ad.

Rather than worrying about what you have a shot at, why not just apply to them and see if you get an interview? If you apply broadly, you'll be able to weigh all of your options. The big 4 are likely not within reach, but if you can afford to apply to them, you can account for a lucky break. Applying to residency is far less expensive than applying to medical school with regard to application fees, so I say just go for it.

Reactions: 1 users