• AMA with Certified Student Loan Professional

Join SDN on December 7th at 6:00 PM Eastern as we host Andrew Paulson of StudentLoanAdvice.com for an AMA webinar. He'll be answering your questions about how to best manage your student loans. Register now!

BEST route -- or what is the route -- to doing Pediatric cardiology?

theDr.

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
May 23, 2002
    Im a student at NYCOM and interested in persuing pediatric cardiology -- an idea what hte route is or best route for a DO....i would like to stay in the NY area.

Doc_Thks_JC

Med/Peds Doc
    7+ Year Member
    15+ Year Member
    Jul 30, 2002
    Mobile, Alabama
      Hi,

I am also a student (4th year--soon graduating) and actually interviewed for residency with a well known Pediatric Cardiologist and he actually tried to talk me into pursuing a dual Med/Peds Cardiology fellowship as there are not many in the US and I am seeking a Med/Peds residency. To do Peds Cards you have to obviously do a Pediatric Residency (3 years in length) followed by a Pediatric Cardiology Fellowship (3-4 years in length). Some Fellowships may be shorter but I am quoting what I have been told. I actually did a Pediatric Cardiology rotation last year at one of the top 10 Children's Hospitals in the Nation and I loved it. I think those guys are brilliant and they really know their cardiac embryology and peds cardiac physiology. Well, I hope this helped a little.

If you pursue this, Good luck!

About the Ads