Best time to apply?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Atlas

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I'm a little confused about when I should start collecting my transcripts, AMCAS forms, etc. When is the EARLIEST time I can apply? Right now, I'm a sophomore in my second semester...so I'll technically be a junior this summer. I haven't taken the MCAT. I'm thinking about taking it NEXT april (a year from now). Is it ok to request MCAT application materials NOW and get cracking on them? When can I request an application from the AMCAS? When is the best time to submit my application to them (what day of this/next year)?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm not sure about registration info for the MCAT, but it's certainly worthwhile to start studying this summer so that it makes minimal impact on your school work next semester. The April MCAT is very good timing, although the August MCAT (this year) will give you more time to gauge your competetiveness as far as numbers are concerned. And you won't have to worry about it come next semester.

As for AMCAS, the applications are made available April 1 and start accepting them on June 1. I advise turning it in ASAP (i.e. June 1).

Check http://www.aamc.org for dates regarding MCAT registration and medical school application. According to AAMC, for the 2002 entering class the new on-line web application will be evailable beginning April 16 and the certification and submission to AAMC will be available beginning June 18, 2001. Registration for the April 2002 MCAT will probably begin sometime in January 2002 and the deadline will be sometime in March. Check the website for details. As they used to say in Chicago, apply early and apply often. Cheers.

Members don't see this ad :)