1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Best way to get an interview?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by bioteach, Apr 13, 2007.

1. bioteach

bioteach MSIV
    7+ Year Member

Medical Student
    This is my first post in this forum. I am applying for the 2008 cycle and I am a non-trad. I have a master's degree and have been teaching biology at the community college level for the past few years.

My problem: I have a low undergrad gpa and science gpa - 3.03 (yes, that low!) and anticipate an MCAT in the low 30's - haven't gotten my score back yet, so that is still in the air.... So the MCAT should be okay but not out of this world. (If it weren't for orgo, my bio section would be a 15!)

I plan on applying widely. I have lots of life experience, I teach bio and A&P at the college level, have a 3.9 gpa for my master's degree, lots of volunteering (both medical and otherwise). I feel that if I can just get an interview, I have a very solid chance of getting in. I just worry that my app will be thrown in the trash based on my crappy undergrad numbers alone. Its been 8 years since I graduated...but my teenage mistakes are still my biggest stumbling block.

Any opinions or educated guesses...??..

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Darkshooter326

Darkshooter326 Senior Member
    5+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    The only thing you as an applicant can control is when you apply and when you are complete. So apply early, June or July, and hopefully that puts you at somewhat of an advantage. Also, sending letters of update after a few weeks may help to show continued interest in schools.

4. happy snake

2+ Year Member

Medical Student