sbdento

7+ Year Member
Nov 11, 2010
I have read many posts saying that the bio section is extremely broad in the topics of the questions asked. Aside from taking more bio classes what is the best way to master this section? Is there a certain review book that is the best? Post your thoughts please.

hoylematt

10+ Year Member
Nov 23, 2008
Status
Pre-Dental
Cliff's AP Bio is a nice review to start with for some of the foundational knowledge. I followed that up with Thinkwell's Biology videos to cover some of the topics that I was weak in.

The unfortunate truth is that I feel my background in Biology from taking so many different bio courses helped me more than any review book.

Here is an example: I studied an insane amount of anatomy and not one question was on anatomy. I studied an insane amount of phylogeny and there was only one question on one of the most basic phyla that I knew before I even started studying for the DAT. It really depends on the test what kind of endless biology knowledge you will have to know. That's why I feel the Thinkwell videos are a good addition because it takes a broad look at some topics that aren't covered in more specific biology review books, and in a way that is interesting and easy to remember.

Another method that I feel could help you if you want to do a much larger review of Biology would be to buy Campbell's Biology 7th edition (picked mine up used for like 25 bucks) and just study the entire text book several times. I know several people that found this helpful for certain sections that were troubling them in their DAT bio studies.

Like I stated in another thread, you will study more for this section and its randomness will astound you. Good luck!

OP
S

sbdento

7+ Year Member
Nov 11, 2010
Sounds like Cliff's review is the way to go then. Thanks guys.

Erhatstil

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Jul 9, 2008
Status
Pre-Dental
to guarantee a 20+ you need more than cliff's. campbells is great

yappy

10+ Year Member