Dismiss Notice
Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

BETTER: post-bacc or grad school???

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by toxin, Jul 14, 2001.

1. toxin

toxin Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

Since I have to raise my gpa im debating should I go to postbacc program (and which one) or get a masters degree....any stories, advice would greatly appreciated

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. together

together Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

Hi Toxin (cool name!)

I was in the same situation just a few months back after I graduated from college. I have since decided to pursue an M.A. in Biomedical Sciences at the Boston University School of Medicine. In spite of the fact that the program is expensive and challenging, it will allow me to audition my abilities in medical school-level classes and to pursue advanced biomedical research. I may even pursue a Ph.D. in Neuroscience after the program since it should take approximately 2 years after my M.A. thesis.

But that's me. I would need to know more about your present situation -- academic background (major, GPAs, MCAT, etc.) and what your ultimate goals are before I can give you an honest reply. Some programs that are great for some are terrible for others. You have to find what satisfies your interest.

Feel free to e-mail me.

Together

4. sandflea

sandflea Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

i think what your decision comes down to is whether or not you completed the pre-med course requirements during college. post-bacc programs are for students who did NOT complete these courses and decided after they graduated from college that they wanted to pursue medicine. grad school, however, is recommended for students who have already completed these courses but need to raise their gpa's in order to be more competitive.

5. phillybabe

phillybabe Senior Member
    7+ Year Member