• SDN Site Updates

Hey everyone! The site will be down for approximately 2 hours on Thursday, August 5th for site updates.

• How To ACE Your Medical School Interview

In this webinar hosted by SDN with experts from BeMo Academic Consulting, you will learn a simple five-step process to help you translate your interview invitation into an acceptance.

alimarie81

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Feb 27, 2004
Chicago, South Loop
Status (Visible)
Hello,
I am MS3 interested in addictions, and am trying to decide if I should pursue psychiatry for residency. I am applying to the Betty Ford summer institute for medical students- you spend 1 week in either outpatient, inpatient, or family program learning about the process. Has anyone been accepted and participated in this program? Any suggestions on a successful application? I have some experience at Hazelden (Chicago) on one of my rotations. Thanks!!

OldPsychDoc

Senior Curmudgeon
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Dec 2, 2004
Left of Center
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician
Hello,
I am MS3 interested in addictions, and am trying to decide if I should pursue psychiatry for residency. I am applying to the Betty Ford summer institute for medical students- you spend 1 week in either outpatient, inpatient, or family program learning about the process. Has anyone been accepted and participated in this program? Any suggestions on a successful application? I have some experience at Hazelden (Chicago) on one of my rotations. Thanks!!

As far as the application goes, I would imagine that a reference from someone you worked with at Hazelden might help. I don't have any more info than that, though.