BF Broke up with me because I applied to med school....

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nenya

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I applied this cycle to medical schools and to my surprise my boyfriend of 6 years broke up with me (he has known for 6 years med school was my dream). According to him, he doesn't think he will be able to handle me going to medical school... We currently live together, and apparently my MCAT studying has made him realize that he won't be happy while I am studying all the time. I keep telling myself that this is for the best, but I just don't know how to process this and not let it affect all the work there is still to be done for the secondaries :(

Members don't see this ad.

Hi everyone, I applied this cycle to medical schools and to my surprise my boyfriend of 6 years broke up with me (he has known for 6 years med school was my dream). According to him, he doesn't think he will be able to handle me going to medical school... We currently live together, and apparently my MCAT studying has made him realize that he won't be happy while I am studying all the time. I keep telling myself that this is for the best, but I just don't know how to process this and not let it affect all the work there is still to be done for the secondaries :(

You need to sit down and have a serious discussion with him about if you want to take things to the "next level" and not quit on you. If he's doing this now, chances are he would leave you in high school. If I could offer advice, which is hypocritical since I won't be, is to be single for your duration of medical school. You want to work on yourself and have a stable career before trying to jump into a serious relationship. I know that 6 year boyfriend is a long time, but if he's not the one.. he's not.

Members don't see this ad :)