Medical Big career change; 3 questions (post-bacc) on what I should do

Status
Not open for further replies.

Goro

Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
First, you are all amazing. I have lurked around these forums for a while and greatly appreciated the wealth of knowledge and resources that you and the broader community so freely share.

Context
I am a 34-year old attorney seeking to enter a post-bacc program next year. For the past 8 years, I have worked at a prestigious management consulting firm providing cybersecurity and privacy risk management services to major health industry companies. Occasionally I have the privilege of working on something that directly leads to improved patient care (e.g., implementing security controls for a medical device). Witnessing how my clients can change lives is deeply inspiring and energizing. While I enjoy my work, I want to become a physician to directly interact with patients instead of watching and supporting from afar.

Hopefully that's enough info... I promise my personal statement will be more robust, as I have also dealt with some personal experiences - both ups and downs - that allow me to intimately understand and empathize with patients dealing with challenging circumstances.

GPA/Education
  • Undergrad: 2.8
    • B.S. from 4-year state university majoring in Technical Communications w/Computer Security concentration; grades trend up after first 2-3 semesters; med school sciences = 1 3-credit "C" in a Chemistry for Engineers course so sGPA repair is possible
  • Law school: 3.4
    • Graduated top third of class; held two research TA positions; received the top grade in one class; accepted to law review; scored ~90th percentile in LSAT
  • Ivy league Masters: 4.0
    • Computer Security at Brown University; full merit-based scholarship
Relevant professional highlights