Biochem major, junior year 3.7 cGPA 3.5 science gpa

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mikefiesta

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm currently a student enrolled at Brigham Young University in Provo, Utah.
I'm a Junior majoring in Biochemistry, with a college gpa of about 3.7, and my science gpa is about a 3.5.

I have one F (in precalculus, I retook it and got an A) and 3 W's (Two of the W's were from my freshman year, one was a history course that just happened to go over the add/drop deadline, the other was calc 1 in the summer of my freshman year which I retook and got a B in.) Ever since then I've been pretty good with doing well in math classes, and maintaining an up trend.

Finally, this last W just happened recently (it's now the second semester of my junior year), I was taking physics, and dropped it. I didn't feel like I was learning it well enough, despite doing okay in the class. I'll still be maintaining a 14 credit hour load but I do want to get into umdnj/nyu (MD schools) range schools, and I'm a bit worried now after speaking to some advisers that I may not make the cut.

Pertinent info:
-I'm doing a five year undergraduate route(I won't be taking the MCAT until the end of my senior year, and i'll be working full time during the following year until I hear back from medical schools)
-1 year EMS experience (as an EMT)
-Portuguese honor society member for about a year (no leadership roles)
-I work in a lab that deals with liquid chromatography and will be getting published (but so do a lot of premed's at my school apparently, i believe that it won't be in the acknowledgements section)
-I shadowed for 40 hours (physician)
-I will be serving a two year mission after this semester.

What can I do to make my application stronger/what are my chance? I really do feel like I have no shot at an MD school after speaking with that adviser.

Members don't see this ad.

Hey guys,